magic.

I believe in magic.
Not the Harry Potter kind of stuff, though I’d argue to say, and others too might point out that magic is different than witchcraft and wizardry.

Oh goodness, I’m off to a great start already.

I suppose I should specify, or give you some clarity before you start thinking I’m crazy. Or, you can think I’m crazy. I’d like to think I’m showing significant signs of deviance from the norm — at least in my own head.

What I’d like to say, is that I believe in the process of creating.

I believe that there is something in each person that I’d like to call magic. For reasons I can’t explain, and you can’t explain, you’re just good at it. The mix of sub-conscious and motor memory and creativity. Also things like experience and passion and hard work.

I suppose you could just call it that, and walk away thinking that what you do isn’t that cool. And maybe it isn’t. But maybe there is this one thing that you can’t explain, but you just do it really well.

Trailer321

I watched a movie last night called, “The Lunchbox”.
Anytime I can snag a non-Bollywood movie that takes place in India, I’m usually all over it. There’s nothing wrong with Bollywood because truthfully, there is PLENTY of magic involved.

This was a movie about food and mistakes and how they say, ‘the wrong train can lead you to the right station.’

But there was a line in the movie that was far more substantial. Two of the main characters were talking about a tiny restaurant closing, mistaking one of the cooks as the woman who had been sending this man his lunch. “There’s no place for talent in this country…”

While the other says, stuffing tikka masala into his mouth, “Everyone can cook, but there must be magic.

So, as the aspiring pseudo-chef in me loved to hear this, I started to think about it.
There are times, when I’ve found myself cooking for people and myself, and I think, “How did this happen?”

I mean, of course. You learn how to build flavors. You learn how to taste. You learn how to put things together and heat them up or cool them down.

But then, when you are sitting down at a table with another person and hear them moan, “Mmm.” And you all just sit around and eat and eat and drink.

That to me, is magic.

The ability to create something that is bigger than the sum of its parts.

magic.

The same goes for whatever your hand or body chooses to create. The invisible presence that circulates in a room — the ideas that were put in your head and the execution of it all.

Maybe I’m being dramatic and romanticizing a thing too much. I’ve been known to do such things, as y’all are well aware. But even at this here blog, I get to create and write and explore. Quite often, I look back at the things I’ve been able to write and wonder where it came from. Certainly some dark places, but also from a place that holds a great light.

What I hope, is that you consider the invisible presence of wonder.

That little bit extra.

The butter or a song at just the right moment.

Not one extra grain of salt.

And the presence of the Beloved,

 

nothing short of magic. 

9 responses

  1. Often I have eaten at a restaurant and gone away feeling hollow because the food had no soul. As with food, so goes painting and writing and music and all other creative endeavors – to stand out from all the rest the thing created must have SOUL. I talk about it all the time in my own blog, The Creative Epiphany. Anything created can be SOUL FOOD – food for the soul.
    I enjoy reading your blog!

  2. Think everyday to yourself, “I am Magic.”
    We are so much more significant and powerful than we actually think. The “magic” is the love and passion in your heart which causes your body to act and create. You are passionate about cooking, without thinking you create something so beyond you. This is your magic. The things that come easy and natural are programmed in your soul! We are precious energies that can do anything we want as long as our spirit follows through! Be magic and make magic everyday!
    NAMASTE

  3. By your own standards and your definition, you truly are a magician. I rarely come across posts that are so well written and touch me like this one did. I am off to watch “The Lunchbox” TONIGHT. This is all very inspiring and very welcome after the shitty day I’ve had!

  4. Loved this post. An artist friend of mine once shared with me that since we are made in the image of God, the original “Creator,” we are all “little creators” and all have the desire to create something beautiful. Thought this was such an amazing truth that I had not considered before. It’s such a beautiful thing to be able to love and do what you were created to do. Very magical stuff. ✨✨✨✨✨✨

  5. Just saw that myself the other day at the Laurelhurst, loved it but I could NOT figure out what happened with them in the end! Was it deliberately vague? Argh. 🙂 Anyhow, what you say reminds me of a quote by the writer Iyanla Vanzant who wrote “In the Meantime” (which by the way might be perfect for you at this juncture) and other. “When you can look a thing dead in the eye, acknowledge that it exists, call it exactly what it is, and decide what role it will take in your life then, my Beloved, you have taken the first step toward your freedom.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

