(the perks of being) a kitchen wallflower.

Where do I go from here?

This question I’ve been asking myself a lot lately, especially when there’s not much clarity in these times of transition.

Mardi Gras was wonderful. A room full of people gettin’ happy and full. It really doesn’t get much better than that. Though I usually only have about a good 30-45 minutes of being with people when not having to either cook or clean. But that’s okay. I love watching, more than anything. I love being able to hop around and check in, and then head back to cook more. Or clean my station. Or just take a sip of good whiskey and soak it all in.

These things help hone in on what I want to do. Each year I say to myself that I probably won’t go through it again and each year I get way too jacked up not to.

179710_10100282635897619_1336414181_n

The thing is, these parties have shifted through the years. I wrote a bit about it last week, but I learn more from each dinner. I learn about the work and the passion. The idea that some things just don’t make sense. That’s the way it goes, though. I also can’t picture myself sitting in a classroom again, but some people love it. That’s quite alright, ya know?

More so, I have friends and family that root for me. That want to see me succeed in the things I’m passionate about.

I’ve been thinking about that a lot lately.

I see things and understand. There are people I love to impress and others I know who won’t get it. And that’s also okay. I never feel pressured either way. I guess this is the part where I feel most independent. When a ‘big deal’ walks in the door, I like to remain myself and hold fast to that. I feel like it’s gotten me to where I am today and I’m proud of that.

I’m stoked that I get to hold my head up and serve people and know that I put in a lot of time. We all have our gifts — and maybe I’m starting to learn what mine is.

I’m the wallflower in a kitchen.

Facilitating.

Adding salt.

Tasting.

Telling people, “It’s all about the mayonnaise…”

Scrubbing.

Turning off the lights.

And I’ll do it over and over again.

4 responses

  1. For a while I’ve been thrilled to take on the “cook” role of my group when possible, enjoying literally every aspect of it that you described above (right down to the whiskey) and recently I’ve been talking up the possibility of hosting a regular monthly night of culinary experience for the group. I was inspired by this article about a new restaurant in NYC, at which the chef/owner designs the menus based on a “dinner” theme for the night and that’s what the place serves. Have you ever done something similar? How did it turn out? Any advice or recommendations?

    http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/20/dining/reviews/restaurant-review-louro-in-greenwich-village.html

  2. @Devin, themes are awesome ways to plan meals. Especially with larger groups of people. It works out that way if you get to shop at markets that are more honed in to the style of food you want to cook. I assume there are areas like that where you live — hispanic markets, asian, indian, etc. I know momofuku is the big craze right now, but that cookbook is legit and you can cook from it for a lot cheaper. It’s a big step into those bold flavors that made him so famous and once you go down that road, your game gets so much bigger. Same goes for southern food or any other cuisine. Holla at me if you get stuck and we can work on a big menu. Happy cookin’ and plannin’ brotha.

Leave a Reply

