What It Is

A friend of mine recently brought these folks to my attention. I’m not going to go into their story, because I’m sure they can tell it better than I could.

They’re called Farmstead Meatsmith and it looks like they do lots of things. One is to focus on the economics of butchery and another is making really impressive charcuterie.

I’d love for you to watch this video. If you have a hard time watching animals being butchered, you should probably skip it – but if you eat meat, it’s probably good for you to know where this stuff comes from. And it’s not that bad, really.

I was really moved by this. For one the butcher/farmer calls the pig by her name through the whole thing. He refers to the pig as ‘she’ while talking about its meat and bits. I don’t know, I get all sentimental about this kind of stuff.

Mostly because we really don’t see where our meat comes from. I mean, we think we do, but we don’t, really.

Even at the end of the video when they have a few flowers placed on her jawbone with music that is somewhat mournful. That’s probably kind of weird and creepy to you, but it was all sort of beautiful for me.

I’m not here convincing you to go kill a pig and make a bunch of charcuterie, though all of which he makes is really impressive and uses some great technique.

Head cheese is super weird, but this dude made it look beautiful. Like I said, I don’t know why, but I love this stuff.

Some people are really into The Bachelorette, and some people are into head cheese.

I actually don’t blame you if you aren’t into either.

But I do want to always think of the things we kill in order to eat. Plants included.

As I was going to bed last night, I began telling my wife about the head cheese scene. “Can I just tell you how cool it is that you can cook an entire pig’s head with trotters and strain the stock and then you reduce it and it forms it’s own gelatin as it cools so that you can use it to congeal all the meat that comes from the head??”

And as she fell back asleep, she responded, “That’s so great, honey — sleep good…”

Hey.

It is what it is.

And I love what it is.

Leave a Reply

