Meat on Flame

As I say, when you have a hankerin’ for grilled meat, it’s best to just let it happen.

This is what I did yesterday because the sun was hot and I needed to smell like mesquite.

There are good and bad things about both gas and charcoal (or wood charcoal). Over the years, I’ve used gas because “technically” our landlords don’t want us using charcoal near the apartments we live in. But…we’re good people. We know not to pour hot coals into the trash and to keep a close eye on the flame. I broke down a bought a little baby charcoal grill.

I bought some good Lazarri Mesquite Charcoal. Hands down some of the best coals you’ll ever get. The smell is unlike anything. You also really don’t want to use lighter fluid if possible. Buy one of those charcoal chimney things to start your coal and let it rip.

In proper grilling, it’s actually good to have a really hot spot and some not so hot spots. This is the same with both gas and charcoal. Especially for the food I’m gonna share with you today.

Not my picture, but they looked pretty damn close to this. Mmm.

I reckon’ it’s more like Yakitori – or meat grilled on skewers over high heat. Usually this meat’s been marinated in something, but not always.

My favorite is country pork shoulder ribs and chicken thighs (skin on, deboned). I season them both a little differently.

Garlic Chili Pork Shoulder Rib (Yakitori/Skewer)
(This is an awesome cut of meat. Usually pretty cheap. Has good fat and lean consistency)
1lb country pork shoulder rib, diced for skewers
3T Garlic Chili Sauce (Huey Fong – You can find it easily at any grocery shop. Probably where they keep the soy sauce)
2t light soy sauce
pinch of kosher salt
pinch of freshly ground pepper
Toss with about a tablespoon of canola or vegetable oil – let sit overnight or for a couple of hours. Stick on skewers and cook over high heat for a few minutes on each side.

Chicken thighs (Yakitori/Skewer)
1lb boneless/skin on chicken thighs, cubed for skewers
2T canola/vegetable oil
1t garlic powder (or minced garlic)
1 three-finger pinch of kosher salt
1 two finger pinch of freshly ground black pepper
1T Worcestershire Sauce
That’s it! Toss, marinate, and cook the same as you would the pork.

Seriously, this stuff is so good to me right now.

Hit. It. Up.

One response

  1. I had my first barbecue of the year yesterday. Here in Ireland, it was cold and raining. However, I don’t let that put me off. I am lazy and use gas. Your recipes look excellent. I will be posting my Lamb Koftis soon.
    Best,
    Conor

Leave a Reply

