broccoli and cauliflower [epic veg time!]

Eating healthy isn’t easy.

At least at first.

We have to admit to ourselves that it’s easier to pick up something already cooked or in a bag or “just heat and eat!” To eat better, we have to cook more from scratch.

That’s one of my biggest pet peeves with frozen health foods. Those “throw into a saute pan and cook” dinners are loaded with hidden preservatives [read: SALT & CRAP]. Then, there’s the creamy sauce or teriyaki stuff you add in with your veggies. Be careful and read the box it comes in. Cream sauce = faaaaaat and teriyaki = sugaaaar

We know that vegetables are good for us. Getting them to taste good…is a different matter. Vegetables CAN be enjoyable and even asked for when it comes time to eat. I can’t say that I’ve dominated all that is vegetable cooking, but I can say that you can eat a plate full of green things and be perfectly full and happy. (And can even afford somethin’ sweet at the end — eating veggies pays off in many ways!)

So, if I were to give advice to those learning to eat better, I’d say start small. Work with what you know how to do and what you can do quick. That’s one of the brilliant things about vegetables because AT MOST, they take 45 minutes to cook through. (Besides potatoes…which are a veggie I’ve been told to go easy on.) Steaming, sauteing, etc, really only takes 10-20 minutes.

We eat a lot of steamed broccoli and cauliflower. Strangely enough, I’m beginning to fall in love with these two incredibly good for you‘ vegetables. I prepare them simple.

Steam till they’re tender enough to poke through with a fork. (About 10 minutes)
Let cool slightly and toss with olive oil and some drops of fresh lemon juice. Add salt and pepper to taste. I do this with both broccoli and cauliflower. They can also be roasted in the oven till brown. Cauliflower is an awesome meat substitute. It’s big and filling, and cuts like a piece of meat.

A sample meal, that we eat quite often, goes a little somethin’ like this:

  • Salad greens (dark leafy greens/spinach mix) with olive oil, acid (lemon juice, sherry/red/white wine vinegar, salt and pepper. Pair with some avocado and cucumber.
  • Steamed broccoli or cauliflower tossed in olive oil, lemon (or without), salt and pepper.
  • Small protein — Half a chicken breast/steak, etc.

Super delicious. And don’t be afraid to use salt on veggies. It enhances flavor giving you the up and front of each vegetable.

I don’t have many cool recipes for cooking vegetables….but I can say that it’s hard to go wrong.

And like I said, start with what you know how to do. Get to know what each vegetable tastes like at its best and eat and eat….

and eat…

One response

  1. These veggies make for a great combo.I’ve been a vegetarian – for about four years now – and I will never look back. I’m so much healthier, lively, and extremely upbeat. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

Leave a Reply

