all things go.

I have no experience in starting a business or what it even means to cook for a living.

I know what I’ve seen and realize the work it will take to feed the masses (or..mass!)
The good news is, regardless of the economy, people still have to eat.
What I love about food carts is that they are (or at least should be) affordable.

You have to start somewhere, I reckon. Thinking about dishes and design is the fun part. Raising enough money  to see these dreams come true? Not so easy. (And I don’t expect it to be easy.)

It’s always good until it comes to money. For one, cooks don’t cook for a living because of the money. Either way, business get started one way or the other. I’m still working on my plan for fund raising, so I’m not yet the annoying beggar! (Though I think I may have to change the name from Southern Belly to Southern Beggar, oh man!)

But, in all seriousness, things cost money. In the beginning, you face your biggest expenses. Buying a food trailer. Outfitting it with what you need to cook. The list goes on, and I don’t want to bore you with those details.

So, like I said, you have to start somewhere.

Don’t think that I will be designing the graphics myself. (As I hear a collective relieving “sigh” from the audience.) I know much better people who do this for a living that have offered to help me in this “creative thinking” process. I’m very lucky to have such talented and brilliant think tanks in my life.

– – –

I like the phrase, “Eat good food.”

It’s not pretentious, but straight to the point. I want people to eat good food — and after all, food is what’s most important through and through. If your food sucks, no one will come. I’ve tried southern fare throughout Portland and it’s all decently good to me. Then again, these classic dishes are all especially unique to the people who cook them.

Not all gumbos are created equal.

The essence of southern fare is the story behind the dishes. The way your mom or dad or grandparents made them. Or the time when you sunk your teeth into that one thing that made you remember it the rest of your life.
Food, like the smell of cut grass or the salty beach, can bring you back immediately to a certain place.

And this is what I want.

I want to offer people that story.

The story of my heritage — of my people — of my own lagniappe.

Here’s to the beginnings! The doubts..the frustrations, the joys and recipes…

all things go.

-Josh

2 responses

  1. So excited for you Josh, and grateful to share in the journey man. I loved reading this dood, well written and it gave me the tingly feeling there at the end. So glad to be related to you and even more importantly to be real friends! B

Leave a Reply

