welcome to southern belly (and some exciting news!)

[Welcome to the new blog! Of Southern Contour was great, but this new layout allows me to do more cool stuff (that I’m still trying to figure out.) Thanks for stopping by to take a look and read what I have to say. It means a lot. Truly.]

Cooking has always been a way for me to express love.

When I cook for my wife, it’s practical and it’s emotional. I know she values a home cooked meal and appreciates the work that was put into it. I also know how good it feels to be fed and cared for by someone.

Being a home cook is obviously different than being a line cook or caterer in that you have no human beings waiting that have paid you their hard earned money. You also have more space, generally, to experiment and if something doesn’t turn out the way you wanted, you eat it anyways. You can’t do that with a restaurant. You’re also pushing out way more food at such a higher cost with five or six other people who have to work so tightly together. The work turns you hard. It can eat you up and spit you out – sink or swim.

One of Portland's raddest food carts, "Lardo". Yummm.

And while I’m being dramatic, I know people do it, otherwise we would never get fed.

Some people do it because they love it and they have to. Others, well, we’ve talked about it before. Before this gets too intense, let me move on.

I do have some exciting news!

With much conversation and thought, I have decided to start a food cart here in Portland, Oregon! What!?
And while we have so much to do and think about, I’ve yet to be as excited for any kind of work in my life.  I came into this realizing it will not make me rich, but perhaps I will get to cook for a living without the need to go to culinary school or work my way up through the ranks in a restaurant kitchen. I have a good knowledge in the basics and a few dishes up my sleeve that I think would serve well.

What’s it gonna be about, you ask? Southern comfort.
The food that I grew up with: gumbo, etouffee, po-boys, fried chicken, grits, biscuits and all sorts of goodies!

What will you call it?

Lagniappe.

Lagniappe is a word that loosely, in Louisiana French, means something given to you as a bonus or gift. It’s something extra – an act of kindness – an unexpected little bit on the side.
And I love this. I love where it came from and I love what it means to people, especially in the South. It’s one of those words you just can’t translate into a solid definition because it can mean so many things to so many people.

And while this journey has just begun, I will be keeping y’all updated with its status and menu options. I’ll hopefully be able to post lots of pictures and even ask for some help because I’m a fool to think I can do this alone.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and as always,

I’m glad you’re here.

-Josh

5 responses

  1. Congratulations Josh! Starting any food business is scary and exciting. I will put “Lagniappe” on my must list for when I get to Portland. And if you ever get to Vegas, come to Glitter City Sweets and I will hook you up with the sweet stuff!

Leave a Reply

